Profiles of Astronomers: Breanna Binder

Here’s the profile of Dr. Breanna Binder, former grad student and current post doc at the University of Washington, Seattle!

Who are you and where are you from?
I’m Breanna Binder, a postdoc in the astronomy department and physics lecturer over at UW Bothell. I grew up near Los Angeles, CA, and went to college at UC San Diego.

How did you become interested in Astronomy?
When I was in middle school I complained about being bored in science class. My dad bought me “Cosmos” by Carl Sagan – I read it and was hooked!

If you’re an astronomer (grad student/faculty), what do you study?
I study high mass X-ray binaries: massive, evolved binary star systems (massive stars that are born with a sibling), usually composed of a normal star and a neutron star or black hole.

What’s the coolest thing (not literal) in the Universe?
That we know as much about it as we do! More specifically, I have always thought black holes are the coolest.

What’s the coolest thing outside of your field?
Human evolution. I took several biological anthropology classes in college and even considered changing majors a few times.

What’s your favorite non-astronomy hobby?
Running and cooking

Is there anything else you’d like people to know about you?
I love dogs! My best friend is my Labrador/Brittany mix named Sadie.

Leave a Reply

